Rapunzel Rapunzel, Let Down Your Hai-Oh Wait

Hello Friends!

As you can guess from the title, this post is about my latest haircut, which to most people isn’t a big deal but to me it is.

I haven’t had a haircut in almost 2 years. One of the reasons I haven’t had a haircut in so long is because I have a hard time trying to find salons that would understand what type of cut that I would want, even though I’m sure what I asked for was pretty straight forward. I also waited so long because I have a fear of people putting their hand near my neck. Like just thinking about it makes me cringe. When my friend Virginia does my hair, she has to tell me when she is touching my hair, so I don’t flip out. So as you can imagine I have had an internal struggle I was so done with my long hair but chickened out every time one of my friends would say, “Want a haircut today?”

So I finally convinced myself to just do it. Another reason I was so hesitant so schedule an appointment was because I was like “HOW DOES ONE EVEN SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT AT A SALON?? TOO MUCH ADULT RESPONSIBILITY.”
marcel
I spent a good 10 minutes trying to figure out what I was going to say because I even dialed the salon.

I ended up going to a trusted salon, the guy here was the first one to give me my first ever professional haircut 4 years ago. I went to Savvy Salon on Chestnut Street in the Marina District in San Francisco. The guy that I scheduled for was Douglas. He is amazing. He is the only one that I will let touch my hair. He was very nice and understanding of what I wanted and very open to asking exactly what I want. I feel like he could sense my anxiety about this because he was so fast, like I went in about 30 minutes early because my bus was early and was done because I scheduled my original appointment.

I knew that I could go to Douglas because he would understand exactly what I want because I could barely explain it to myself. But how I described what I want to everyone was “Kaitlyn Bristowe Hair” If you watch the Bachelorette, you would know what that is, but she is my ultimate hair goals. I even watched her entire season in like 4 days to see how her hair was. These were the reference pictures I used

How my friend, Virginia described it was “a little passed my shoulders with choppy layers”
I also want to throw in an apology to Virginia because she is my hair stylist friend, like I go to her for everything about my hair, and I know that I spammed her with so many questions about how to ask for a haircut and how much is an average haircut and all that, so sorry!! 

I only had to show Douglas one for him to get the idea, and I’ll tell you right now that my hair did not come out like that but I still love it. He had asked me about the length and I actually said that I wanted it  little shorter. So even though my hair doesn’t look like Kaitlyn Bristowe’s circa her Bachelorette season, a girl can still dream right?
*cough*but it all works out because Kaitlyn just cut her hair too*cough*
I just want to be her alright?? Leave me alone!

Anywhoo, it came to a bit of a shock to my family because I didn’t tell them… I mean I cut off a good chunk of hair. My hair was down to my butt. As much as I liked having long hair and as much as people liked touching and doing my hair for me, it was just too long for me to handle. I was tired of having a long-ass pony tail and I was tired of it getting stuck under my armpit when I run, AND I WAS TIRED OF GETTING CRUMBS IN MY HAIR. It was also just split ends galore up in there. It was just time for a change and I could not love it more.

The only cons to having short hair is that a) I can’t put my pony tail too high or else I get those strands that fall out the bottom and b) the shortest layer stops right at my chin and makes my chin and my face all itchy.

But other than that I love it, I don’t even need to brush my hair, not that I really did before but now it’s not necessary. I love that I can shake my head my hair doesn’t get all tangled.

So if you are in San Francisco and need a haircut, I definitely recommend Savvy Salon in the Marina District. They are super affordable and only take cash. It is definitely worth fighting over parking. I also recommend this place because the Marina District is just so nice. I love going over there every once in a while just to explore.

Leave a Reply

