Now Watch Me (Dole) Whip

Happy Saturday Friends!

My original plan for my blog was not for it to be a food blog but it seems to be going that way, so my apologies! I’m currently still working on some non-foodie posts that are still missing a few things before they are ready to go up, so bear with me!

So if there if there is anything I love as much as donuts and ice cream (in terms of food) it’s pineapples. I think I have an unhealthy obsession pineapples, I mean, have you seen my blog? Like I would get a pineapple tattoo, no joke, but not right now. Wow, I almost forgot what I was originally saying. Right, I love pineapples, but one thing that may shock you is the fact that I have never had Dole Whip. I know everyone just got their socks knocked off. Yeahhh I go to school in Southern California and I have never been to Disneyland to get Dole Whip.
Don’t judge me!

Well, I finally had some and IT WAS AMAZING. Unfortunately, I didn’t get it at Disneyland, but this was as close I was gonna get because Disneyland tickets are not cheap.

I went to dinner with my uncle and aunts that were down in SoCal for a quick Disney trip, total tfti moment, and we had some to bomb-ass Japanese food in Newport Beach, but the best part of the night was dessert. One of my aunts was craving shaved ice because it was so hot, no joke it was 105 that day, but I was game.
I’m always game for some shaved ice after the Aloha Festival.

After searching the god almighty, Yelp, we decided to go to Hula Girls Shave Ice in Huntington Beach. I always try not to be that person who shows up 20 minutes before closing, but I could not miss out on the chance to have some Dole Whip.

When we showed up, it was like love at first sight.
And it was not because the guy working there was cute…..

After taking what seemed like 100 years to decide what to get, I decided on the small Dole Whip, but now I really wish that I had gotten the Dole Whip Float because I saw a girl get it and it looked so good! I was so torn between the shaved ice and the Dole Whip, but I figured that since I will probably not go to Disneyland anytime soon, that I should get the Dole Whip.

When I saw the Dole Whip it was like a gift from the gods.
the dole whip gods 😉

IMAG1113

IMAG1111

IMAG1110my uncle and his shaved ice

I totally hyped up this place in my mind and it did not disappoint. In addition to having really good shaved ice and Dole Whip, the people working there were super nice and chill. I kind of feel like you have to when you work at a shaved ice place. The decor was so cute and had tiki themed everything, from the counter to the frames that they had on the wall. The place is very big and pretty spacious, it also has outdoor seating. The vibe in there is very relaxing, I could see it as a place that you could just hang out in for hours. They also have a tv and were playing Tangled both times I went, I’m not sure if they always do that, but that’s a plus for me!

IMG_1104

IMAG1139

IMAG1120

IMAG1130I want that Hula Girls sign in my room

IMAG1128

IMAG1138

IMAG1137

What’s really cool about this place is that it is connected to the restaurant next door which sells Hawaiian food and, get this, MALASADAS. GOD IS UPON ME. I WAS REUNUITED WITH MY MALASADAS.

Too bad the malasadas place was closed when we showed up at 8:40 but that did not stop me from convincing my roommates to go two days later with me, because now that I know where the malasadas are, I am going to get some.

Luckily for me, I hyped up this place so much to my roommates that they wanted to go, so we went yesterday, which is why this post is going up on Saturday. The other reason I wanted to go back to Huntington Beach was to try the food side of Hula Girls.

The restaurant side is called Dough Doughs Hawaiian Cafe. I am not an expert on Hawaiian food at all, but in my opinion, this place is so good. The only other time I had Hawaiian food that was better than this was at the Aloha Festival last month but that was as legit as you could get without going to Hawaii.

IMAG1118

IMAG1117

IMAG1119

I ordered the Kalua Pork plate and it was like I was in food heaven. I also got Kalua Pork at the Aloha Fest and this was just as good. One reason I got the plate was because it came with mac salad and anyone who knows me knows that Hawaiian mac salad is my guilty pleasure. If I could, I would eat that for the rest of my life. However, the mac salad was good, but not as good as L & L, which has probably the best mac salad.

IMG_1107

Oh and I also got an order of the mini malasadas. I had the option of getting them rolled in cane sugar, powder sugar, or cinnamon sugar. I was like “dont do this to mehh” so I asked our waitress what she recommended and she suggested the cane sugar and she was not wrong. IT WAS AMAZING. These tasted differently than the ones I had at the festival but these were just as good. I was originally going to get these to go but I’m glad I didn’t at first because they are, like most donuts, best eaten when hot. I was in donut heaven.

IMG_1111

IMG_1110

IMG_1108mini malasada photo shoot!

So after stuffing myself with Kalua Pork and malasadas, we trekked over to Hula Girls for some shaved ice. We took a break between, don’t worry! I definitely need a breather between my lunch and dessert.

This time I got the Dole Whip Float instead of the regular Dole Whip, and it just reassured my love for this place. Too bad it was kind of hot that day because my Dole Whip photo shoot had to be cut short due to it melting.

IMG_1103

IMG_1102  IMAG1132  IMAG1131

If I’m being honest, I did not savor this at all. I was trying to, but I was also trying to just shovel it all into my face hole. IT WAS JUST SO GOOD.

I have decided that these two places are now my homeland. If you have a chance and are in Huntington Beach, you have to visit Dough Doughs and Hula Girls. Both places have such amazing food and really nice and chill employees. The only thing keeping me from going every single day is the fact that I don’t live there, but if I did, I would be broke so fast.

Overall, I give this place a 4.99/5, no I’m bumping that up to a 10.
I was going do to 4.99 because though I love this place, I really wanted a I ❤ Shave Ice sticker that was on the shaved ice machine, but they said that they didn’t have any. *sad face emoji*

my hand model and certain photos were courtesy of my roommate, Ana.

Leave a Reply

