Adventure Is Out There, Part 1

Happy Friday Friends!

As summer begins to come to an end for me, I’m starting to realize how much I will actually miss San Francisco when I leave. I’m not talking about home because I’ve definitely hit that point of the summer where I am like “get me as far away from my parents as possible before I put a hole in this wall,” I mean I’m going to miss the city itself and all that there is to it. 

My friend, Virginia, came to visit me last week and she could not have come at a more perfect time. Staying at home everyday was beginning to drive me insane, especially since my neighbors decided to dig up the foundation and start jack-hammering at 7am. everyday. I was super excited to take her out and play tour guide as well as tourist because living in the city, you kind of forget about all the charm the city really has due to you being stuck in your little suburb of the city, well that’s what it feels like for me. Plus, it’s always fun to play tourist once in a while, especially if you live in a city San Francisco.

Virginia was only here for 3 full days, which I didn’t think was that short until she actually arrived and was like “crap, there is a lot of stuff that we need to do in 3 days!” Surprisingly, we did a lot more than I thought we would do each day.

I chose “Adventure Is Out There” as my title because that has been our motto for this trip and we said it every time we were deciding where to go and what to do. It was a good reminder to not worry about having a set agenda and just try something new and go with the flow.

On the first day we conquered the Golden Gate Bridge, Fort Mason, Ghiradelli Square, Fisherman’s Wharf, The Ferry Building/Port of San Francisco, and a little bit of downtown. Holy freakin cow. That’s a lot, safe to say I was so tired at the end of the day and my feet hurt like a mofo.

We took the bus to the bridge which I have not actually been to in a long time, I’m talking like 6+ years. It was really cool to walk around the look out areas and to tourist watch. We also walked a little bit of the bridge, until we got a little sketched out after looking over the sides and were almost hit by 3 bikers.
Why the city has not made a bike lane on the bridge yet? I don’t know.4-1B05AA53-325866-800so candid

IMAG0847
IMAG0850

IMAG0856you can never have too many pictures of the same thing, right?

IMAG0855never knew that you could see Downtown from the bridge

IMAG0854

After that we got back on the bus to Fort Mason and we went up to the park that was over there and instead of following the path of the bikes, we went up to where the hostels were. Now I realize that they were not just random hostels, they were actually Hostelling International San Francisco, Fisherman’s Wharf. We walked around that area for a bit, I mean there wasn’t a sign that said we couldn’t be up there, at least no sign that  I saw…. Then we just followed a random path that gave an amazing view of the bridge and the rest of Fort Mason.

IMAG0857

IMAG0858

IMAG0859

IMAG0860Alcatraz…I think. I’m a bad local

IMAG0863

IMAG0861

IMAG0864she touched the butt! I mean cannon…

After taking a few photos and panoramas, we again just followed a random path and ended up taking some back stairs and some how, literally I’m still thinking about it, ended up at the Aquatic Park. These back stairs are one of the hidden gems that I found during these 3 days.

IMAG0867the Pirate ship at the Aquatic Park

After we realized where we were, we went up to Ghiradelli Square and walked around there, not leaving without a free sample, of course. After were walked through Fisherman’s Wharf and Pier 39, while I tried to drop some useless knowledge out of my butt to Virginia. We stopped for lunch at Boudin’s at Pier 39, which never disappoints.
IMAG0866

IMAG0870

IMAG0871

IMAG0873Boudin’s sandwiches. soooo good

IMAG0875the seals enjoying life

IMAG0876

IMAG0880

IMAG0881you know I had to take two pictures of Coit Tower and the Transamerica Building

Then we walked to the Ferry Building/Port of San Francisco, which if you did not know, is quite a walk. I almost wish we started at the Ferry Building because of all the food. Ugh, if we did not already eat I would have eaten my body weight in Acme Bread Sandwiches, actually not even sandwiches, just bread. Seriously, so good.

IMAG0882spotted Julius Castle

IMAG0883
IMAG0886

IMAG0887

IMAG0888

IMAG0889

IMAG0890

IMAG0891

After being amazed by the time tables changing for the ferries, checking out the bookstore there, and feeling betrayed by Cowgirl’s Creamery, wouldn’t you think that that means ice cream??, we walked up to take the train to downtown to meet up with my friend, Kristine, for a little bit. We did a lot of walking each day, but not nearly as much as the rest of the days that Virginia was here.

If my feet hurting wasn’t enough evidence that we were tired, we fell a sleep the second we sat on the couch. We did so much that first day that I surprised myself that I lasted all day without any coffee, which if you know me, I always either need a mid-day nap or some coffee to keep me awake. I’m glad we got home before I passed out while standing up.

While writing this post, I realized that it was going to be super long including pictures, so I decided to break up this post into 3 posts each talking about what we did every day. Another reason I am breaking this up into 3 posts is that it will help me stay on my regular posting schedule when I go back to school in 2 weeks.

So that was the first day, be sure to come back next week to see how we survived walking up Filbert Street to Coit Tower.

One comment

Leave a Reply

